Accessibility Options default styledefault clear styleclear high contrast stylecontrast
Cover Your TracksHide This Page

Go to Members Area

e-news

Join our newsletter to receive up-to-date news and other useful information by email

Sign up now

Cover Your Tracks

What is the "Hide this page" button at the top of this site ????

If you are in a public place or worried that someone might see what you are doing, this button will immediately take you away from the CYPF site to Google's search page. On most browsers, the Esc key will have the same effect - please test this if you feel you may need to use it.

However this is only a TEMPORARY solution. If someone pressed the back button on your browser, they could still see that you were visiting the CYPF site. To hide this visit entirely it is best to close the browser using the X button in the top right hand corner.

To make this into a PERMANENT solution, a few simple steps can cover your tracks and make your visits confidential.

Your computer collects information about the websites you visit so that you can review where you have been, or save passwords for different websites. This can be really helpful for you, but it does mean that any other user of the computer can see where you've been online by checking your internet history.

To cover your tracks all you need to do is delete the links in your history folder. This is very easy to do, just follow the advice on this page.

First you need to find out which internet browser you have on your computer. It should say this in the top bar of the screen. The most common are:

  • Internet Explorer
  • Safari (often used on Apple Macs)
  • Firefox (sometimes called Mozilla)
  • Google Chrome

Then just follow the most relevent instructions below (When you have followed these instructions all traces of your visiting this site will be gone. Repeat this process regularly or whenever you visit to keep your tracks covered):

Internet Explorer 6 
1. Click on "Tools" in the top menu bar. Click on "Internet options" at the bottom of the dropdown menu.
2. This will open a box which says "General Internet Options" at the top. Don't worry about any of the other sections.
3. If you look towards the  centre of the box, there is a title saying "Temporary Internet Files", click on "Delete Files".
4. In the next box that pops up, tick "Delete all Offline Content" and then click "OK".
5. Your computer might take a couple of minutes to delete the files if you've never done this before.
6. You will then be back on the "General Internet Options" box. Look at the section called "History" and click on "Clear History".
7. You will be asked if you want to delete all items, click "Yes". Then click "OK" to close the Options Box and your tracks are covered.

Internet Explorer 7
1. Click on "Tools" in the top menu bar. Click on "Internet options" in the dropdown menu.
2. Choose the "General" page and look for "Browser History", then select the "Delete Button" below.
3. You can delete either individual sections, or everything in one go.
4. Either click on each section and then the "Delete" button or click the "Delete All" button at the bottom and your tracks are covered.
 
Safari (often used on Apple Macs)
Safari is a bit different, in that by resetting the browser, you can delete everything without going through a long process. This will also delete any saved passwords or downloads.
1. Go to the menu in the top left hand corner and click on "Reset Safari" and your tracks are covered.

Firefox
1. Click on "Tools" in the top menu bar and select "Clear Private Data".
2. Make sure all the sections you want to delete are ticked, including Cookies and Browsing History.
3. Click on "clear Private Data, and your tracks are covered.

Google Chrome
1. Next to the Search Bar there is a spanner icon. Click on this and then select "Clear Browsing Data".
2. Make sure all the sections you want to delete are ticked, including Cookies and Browsing History.
3. Click on "Clear Browsing Data" and your tracks are covered.